Free Global Shipping | Free 30 Day Returns | 1 Year Warranty
Shopping Cart

An Introduction to Chakras

Posted by Hema Selvaraj on
An Introduction to Chakras

By now, most of us have heard of the chakras in the human body, thanks in no small part to the mainstream acceptance and practice of yoga globally. The arrival of alternate wellness philosophies like yoga, reiki etc from the East in the 20th century has introduced the concept of chakras and chakra healing to the West. So, what really are chakras? Chakras are spinning energy centres in our body, responsible for our physical, mental and emotional well-being. They are not actual physical body parts though.

The basic premise is that all the universe and living world is made up of energy. Chakras are the energy centres in the human body. It is believed that chakras are the revolving doors of creativity, enlightenment and communication between the body and the soul. The word Chakra is of Sanskrit origin meaning “disk” or “wheel”. According to ancient Indian philosophy, there are 7 major chakras or energy centres in the human body, vertically situated from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra has a spiritual symbol and colour associated with it; it governs specific bodily functions in humans.

 The Heart Chakra is the centre of all activity; it is 4th from the top as well as the  bottom of the sequence. The 3 chakras below the Heart Chakra relate to the physical  plane while the 3 chakras above it relate to the spiritual plane. The Heart Chakra itself, as the name suggests, relates to feelings and emotions. That said, all the chakras are equally important and work together as a team.  After all, as humans, we need to plant our feet firmly on the ground while pondering our place in the wider cosmos. The joys of being a multi-faceted living being!

Root Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Root Chakra

The Root Chakra, Sanskrit name Muladhara meaning foundation, is positioned at the start of our lower spine. This chakra is closest to Mother Earth and it makes us feel grounded and protected. It is responsible for our basic needs; food, shelter, sleep, and safety. The Root Chakra gives us our sense of security and stability.

 Sacral Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra, Sanskrit name Swadhisthana meaning one’s own home, is positioned underneath our belly button. This chakra is associated with sexual energy, intimacy, money, and joy. The Sacral Chakra strengthens our bond with ourself and others. Ultimately, it makes us a sensual and creative being.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra, Sanskrit name Manipura meaning place of jewels, is positioned at the upper abdomen. This chakra is associated with personal power, mental capability and self-esteem. The Solar Plexus Chakra gives us the confidence and strength to direct our life in the direction of our goals and aspirations.

Heart Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra, Sanskrit name Anahata meaning unhurt, is positioned at the centre of our chest. The Heart Chakra is associated with love, companionship and happiness. It is the home of boundless love manifesting as kindness and forgiveness. The Heart Chakra bestows us with the ability to live, love and laugh!

Throat Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra, Sanskrit name Vishuddha meaning pure, is positioned at the base of our throat. As the name suggests, the Throat Chakra rules the art of vocalising pure feelings, desires and emotions. A strong Throat Chakra makes us a master of speech and self- expression. It enables us to create our own unique footprint in the world.

Third Eye Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra, Sanskrit name Ajna meaning command, is positioned between the eyebrows on the forehead. As the name implies, it is the chakra of wisdom, intellect, and foresight. Harnessing this chakra cultivates a strong and intuitive mind, that is far from mundane forms of life. A person who has a strong Third Eye Chakra is able to access inner realms and spiritual experiences.

 Crown Chakra

Amahli Jewellery Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra, Sanskrit name Sahasrara meaning thousand petals, is positioned slightly above the crown of the head. It is almost like a portal where the physical body and divine self harmonise. Crown chakra give us access to the higher state of consciousness by letting us establish and accept our true place in the cosmos.

 These are profound concepts that are centuries, if not, millenniums old! They have survived for so long because people have found real resonance with them. Chakra healing, chakra meditation are common practices. We wanted to bring these concepts alive in the form of jewellery. These are not just products; they are our best intentions for your holistic health and wellbeing. If anything, we hope you will take a moment to reflect upon and familiarise yourself with your own chakras!

Newer Post


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published